Premier’s tech award given to alumnus of Hamilton’s Mohawk College


Published November 30, 2023 at 10:50 am

A Mohawk College Alumnus of Distinction, Cheyanne Hammell, has been awarded the Premier’s Award for Technology for her work in construction, including an innovative long term care home in Ajax.

Hammell graduated from Mohawk’s Architectural Technology program in 2007 and went to work for PCL Construction, the largest such firm in Canada. She has worked at PCL for the last 17 years, working on a great many projects.

One of her most recent works was the Lakeridge Gardens LTC home in Ajax, the first project to use Ontario’s Accelerated Build pilot program. Lakeridge Gardens opened with much ado in March 2022 and added a cutting-edge hemodialysis unit shortly thereafter. It’s now home to more than 300 patients. It most recently expanded in September with the addition of a Behavioural Support Unit for advanced dementia patients.

In the year and a half since its opening, the LTC has received several awards including the Toronto Construction Association’s Best of the Best Innovation Award and the Innovation and Excellence Capital Project Award from AdvantAge Ontario.

Hammell led the design management of Lakeridge Gardens, getting the place built in just 13 months. She has also spearheaded the renovations of the CN Tower’s observation deck, which replaced the 1,000-pound glass windows.

Last week Ontario announced Hammell was one of seven people to be honoured with a Premier’s Award at the Colleges Ontario Higher Education Summit in Toronto. Winners included;

  • Carrie Baker from Humber College for Business
  • Cheyanne Hammell from Mohawk College for Technology
  • Christina Kioke from Northern College for Recent Graduate
  • Jody Porter from Centennial College for Creative Arts and Design
  • Jehan Salim from Conestoga College for Community Services
  • Saifullah Sanaye from St. Lawrence College for Apprenticeship
  • Michael Sanderson from Humber College for Health Sciences

These awards “honour college leaders and graduates who have made important contributions to Ontario’s postsecondary system.” Each honouree is nominated by the province’s 24 colleges and “must demonstrate outstanding achievement related to their college experience and have made a significant contribution to their communities.”

inthehammer's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising