McMaster president will not seek another term


Published January 17, 2024 at 2:44 pm

Hamilton's McMaster University among best in the world in latest rankings

The president and vice-chancellor of McMaster University, David Farrar, will not seek another five-year term as the institution’s head.

Farrar informed the board of this decision 18 months before his current term expires on June 30, 2025, as per the university’s policy. This allows the board time to search for his successor.

“After more than 40 years in universities, 25 of those in leadership roles, the time is right for me to return to my roots as a researcher, and for McMaster to begin the transition to a new leader,” Farrar said in a statement.

Farrar has worked with McMaster since 2017, initially serving as a provost and Academic Vice-President. He was appointed acting president in July 2019 before accepting his first full term as President the following December.

“It has been the privilege of my career to serve McMaster University as president over the past four and half years,” Farrar continued, “I am continually inspired by our outstanding students, faculty and staff whose tremendous dedication, commitment to excellence, and spirit of collaboration is unparalleled.” 

“On behalf of the Board of Governors and the entire McMaster community, I offer sincere thanks and appreciation to David for his dedicated service and commitment, and for the extensive time, effort, and energy he has devoted to leading our institution and maintaining McMaster’s reputation for research and teaching innovation and excellence at the local, national, and global levels,” Chair of McMaster’s Board of Governors Jane Allen said.

A ten-member Committee for Recommending a President, selected by both the university board and senate, will choose a candidate for approval.

There have been eight presidents and vice-chancellors at McMaster since the office’s inception in 1950;

  1. George Gilmour, (1950–1961)
  2. Harry Thode, (1961–1972)
  3. Arthur Bourns, (1972–1980)
  4. Alvin A. Lee, (1980–1990)
  5. Geraldine A. Kenney-Wallace (1990–1995)
  6. Peter George (1995–2010)
  7. Patrick Deane (2010–2019)
  8. David H. Farrar (2019-2025)
inthehammer's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising